New Non-Egged Shuttles for Jerusalem in Doubt (UPDATED)

In a recently published list of the cities that will receive new shuttles that will operate outside of the traditional bus companies, Jerusalem is conspicuously absent. Previously, the government had promised that Jerusalem would be the first city to receive the new lines.

The shuttles are intended to fill gaps in current bus service. They will be Rav-Kav friendly and could theoretically operate on Shabbat as well. The companies operating the shuttles will be chosen by the government.

The towns that will be receiving the new shuttles are Or Yehuda, Eilat, Alon Shvut, Efrat, Ariel, Bat Yam, Givat Shmuel, Givatayim, Gadera, Hod Hasharon, Holon, Yehud, Kfar Yona, Kfar Kassem, Natzeret Elite, Afula, Kiryat Ono, Kiryat Gat, Rosh HaAyin, Ramat Hasharon, and Ra’anana.

In a Facebook post, Jerusalem Councilman Elad Malka said he would be going to the Knesset to protest the decision.

Update: The Ministry of Transportation confirmed that Jerusalem would be receiving 12 lines of shuttle transportation. They include connections between Har Hatzofim and Gilo, Ein Karem and Talpiyot, Malha and Givat Ram and Gilo and Har Hotzvim.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.